Friday, December 19, 2008

it's MY voice!

I hate stupid people. I know hate is a strong word...but I mean it. People just get all crazy and rude around the holidays. I'm sorry but just because it's Christmas, my life does not revolve around you.

Today I worked, it was one of the harder days of my starbucks tenure. One of the most frustrating moments of my time there came today.

I was on the front register. A older woman walked up and said she was looking for a specific gift card...Ok, so I looked through the cards we had out and didn't see what she was describing...I pulled open a drawer where we mostly keep the non seasonal cards, but just to be sure I was checking that a box of holiday cards didn't get put in there by mistake...As I would look in a box I would place it on the counter so I would know I checked it...crazy lady would open each box and look again, because clearly I don't know what a light blue card with a white snowflake looks like. So I tolds her we didn't have any and asked if another card would be ok...she said "no, couldn't you call and see if another starbucks has it" I was fairly certain this card did not exist at all, I mean I do spend a lot of my days scanning gift cards and have become fairly familiar with the ones starbucks sells...so keeping my most polite face on I went to the back to retrieve the phone list to start calling around the stores.

I called a few stores and all said they either did not have any cards at all, or they had the same ones we did... so side note the cordless phone I was using was not the most reliable so around the 4th store a man answered the phone but couldn't hear me, so he hung up on me...when that happened, I said something out loud "oh he hung up on me" I knew what had happened so I wasn't mad, but stupid crazy lady had to put in her two cents "he probably thought you were just a kid prank calling" REALLY!? I am bending over backwards calling all of the starbucks in Houston to find you a stupid card that doesn't exist and you are now picking on my voice!? So I told her I would be a few minutes as I continued calling stores in the back, mostly because I needed to compose myself before I yelled at her.

I called one more store and the manager of that store assured me that no such card exists...so with the new confidance that I was not crazy I went back out to tell her that I can't find anyone with it. So I tell her and she winds up getting one of the cards we have and put $5 on it. REALLY! All of that and she put 5 freaking dollars on the card!??!?!?!

Later on another woman came in and also wanted a specific gift card...at least that one existed...but still...it's a gift card people. A majority of the time they are thrown away after they are used anyways.

The thing that pushed me over the edge was the stab at my voice. I'm SOSOSO tired of people commenting on my voice. I understand it is a little unusual for a 26 year old to have the voice of a 6 year old. Trust me if I could change it I would...I mean it's one thing when I get told I don't look my age all the time, I take responsibilty in that, I mean, I know if I wore make up more often I would look more like my real age...but my voice isn't that easy to change and I'm really weirdly sensitive about it. I really don't care when people make comments that I have a little voice, I'm fully aware that I pretty much talk exactly like I did when I was 6...minus the lisp. It's when it gets said with a negative connotation that my feelings are hurt. I'm realistic, I can understand that it probably is a little grating and annoying...but I can't do anything about it. I could try to talk deeper, but that is fake and unnatural sounding.

Maybe I should take up smoking...

Monday, December 15, 2008

so much for chillaxin

Yesterday I fully intended on having a lazy day. With finals done (granted the way my school is I have finals once a month), sister on her way back to Florida, one last week of work and school before I too would be off to Florida I decided to use the day to relax and pamper myself, I was going to get a facial, mani pedi...which I don't do often. So I woke up, and was fairly anxious to get the pamper party started. I followed my general morning routine...nothing too glamorous, just brushing my hair and teeth with their respective brushes, dress in my usual "I don't have to wear my work or school uniform" uniform of jeans and a t-shirt...and went to put my contacts in...right eye first, just as I have done everyday since I started wearing contacts in 9th grade. Now it was the left eyes turn, I gave the contact the once over just to check for lint or anything before placing it in my eye...when I saw it...a tear on the edge. I panicked...you see this was my last pair of disposable contacts. I have been meaning to go to the eye doctor ever since I started getting insurance...but there is always something seemingly more important. I froze in my bathroom, one contact in my eye, the other in my hand trying to decide what to do. I washed the left one down the drain, because what can you do with a torn contact? If you are not aware, I do have glasses, the same glasses that I have had the last 7 years...the same Kate Spade glasses that I swore up and down to my grandad that if I had them I would wear glasses more often...the same glasses I only wear at night and hate wearing in public because I lose my peripherral vision (I am literally legally blind, so without glasses or contacts I can't see anything thus when I wear glasses I can't see anything around them).

So, I pull the right contact out too and threw it away out of frustration and put my glasses back on. I leave the house determined to find a optometrist that takes my insurance that is open on a Sunday. I know it would have been easier and smarter to do some internet research first, but I was frustrated.

Come to find out that my same eye doctor from when I was younger was in fact open and around the corner from my apartment. So a few hours later, new contacts in my eye and new glasses ordered I was ready for pampering...until I realized it was 3 and I was exhausted from the ordeal...plus I felt guilty that Libby had been in her crate all week and I had planned to take her to the dog park...so I guess pampering will have to wait until Florida.