Monday, October 27, 2008

mmmm cheese...

So if you are reading this I assume you know me to some degree. If not...well...I have a confession...perhaps even a problem...I LOVE cheese. I know what you are thinking, thats not really a problem, but it is, I also recently found out I have slightly high cholesterol, while it's not a problem now, it could be if I keep eating ginormous amounts of cheese I love so much.

Anyhoo, thats not even my point. So I love cheese, the only thing I love more than cheese is melted cheese. So tonight I was/am sitting at home. I was thinking about what I want for dinner, and given my amazing cooking skills my choices were spaghettios or turkey sandwhich. As I was thinking I started fantisizing about an amazing sandwich. One with turkey and melted cheese...so my mind was made up. I went to my kitchen and started making my sandwich. I placed the cheese on turkey and mayo and stuck it in the microwave. It was perfect, everything I had hoped and dreamed. I sat and ate as I watched "little people big world"...until this perfect moment was ruined by 1 bite. I bit down and was stopped by paper...I knew immediatly what happened. My cheese of choice is the deli kind where each slice is seperated by wax paper...I had missed a peice and it was now melted into the cheese of my perfect sandwich. I was crushed, I got it out, but it wasn't the same I had taken a lot of the cheese with the paper. I know it's hard to be me. It only reinforces my need to have other people make me food...I can't even make a turkey sandwich right.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Voting is not a trend

I was at the mall yesterday and I noticed at Gap that the promo item was shirts that say vote. Now before I start I'm not a hugely political person, but I'm becoming more and more opinionated on the whole election process. Unfortunatly most of my opinions are based on frustration.

Being that I am 26 this voting thing should not be new to me, but I am slightly ashamed to admit that it is. However, it's not a matter of laziness, or lack of caring. I realize that this is a huge responsibilty, and I don't take it lightly. I never wanted to vote for the sake of voting, I want to vote because I feel confidant standing behind someone and supporting what they believe and their vision for this country. I am starting to wonder if that ever happens though. Maybe this election is just different I don't know, but as I have said many times I'm not a huge fan of either candidate.

Adding to the frustration and chaos is having it crammed down my throat that I NEED to vote, that if I don't vote I can't complain, and not only that but voting for the only "right" candidate... I just feel like the media is being very one sided about supporting candidates I'm tired of the celebrity spots urging everyone to vote for the same person as them.

Like I said, I do think it is important to vote, but I think it is more important to be informed. I feel like a message I have heard is to just vote...not research who you are voting for and why. Even trying to be informed is hard...lets be honest the media is leaning toward obama...even watching the debates is hard to get real information because so much time was spent arguing over whose ad was bashing who, and whose turn it was to talk that I still don't feel like I understand where either candidate stands on any issue. I was talking to one of my friends who said she was even afraid to admit that she is supporting McCain because it just doesn't seem like the "cool" thing...and like I said I don't think the media is helping that. It just scares me how many other 18 year olds have that same thought process and are voting one way not because they really support the candidate...but because it's what the celebrities are saying to. I'm not saying that either candidate is right or wrong, just that I wish people would make that decision on their own and not because it's what Matt Damon or Oprah said.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Today I felt inspired...inspired to go grocery shopping...by the new super target by my apt.



If you know me, you know I don't generally grocery shop. Blame it on the fact that I don't know how to cook, blame it on the fact that I generally spend the same amount of money eating out since it's just me...either way, the only time I go to the store is when I need dr. pepper.



Well, there has been a super target under construction near me for a while now, I just noticed yesterday it was open, but I had Libby with me, so I couldn't stop. So today I woke up and decided to go, however, I had forgotten the detail that it was a SUPER target...I was excited to have a regular target. So I go, and even when I get there, I was on the phone, and was distracted so I still hadn't remembered it was a SUPER target. Until I walked in and was in the food section, all of the sudden I forgot why I was even at target and was grocery shopping. I decided that taking my lunch to school was a great idea, and so first we had to go get a lunch box. Then I paced around looking for things that would be easy to take for lunch and before I knew it I hadn't even gotten through the whole store when I decided I needed to go because I was spending too much money. Luckily I remembered why I was there to begin with...I had broken my deoderant this morning and needed a new one.



In other news, I finally exhausted Libby, thats right, the dog that never sleeps is snoring at my feet this very moment. Too bad I don't have 3 hours to take her to the dog park everyday.



Ok, now my opinion on the presidential debate. I had to watch it for a class and write a paper for 5 points added to my final grade, in a new development I have become an overachiever...who knew...anyway, so there I was watching the debate and wanting to gouge my eyeballs out. I don't like either candidate. They were annoying the CRAP out of me, if I hear "Joe the plumber" one more time I am not voting. Besides all that, is it just me or were they acting like school children? I'm not a really political person and honestly this is the first time I have really even watched a presidential debate, so maybe they are always like that...I don't know, but I feel like they need to grow up and quite fighting over whose ad is bashing whose and just tell me what they are going to do as president.

I don't want to go to school tomorrow. As I said before we have started drawing blood from eachother. There are 7 other people in my class so we have to draw from eachother...generally I look like I have track marks all the time. Anyhoo, the other day I had gotten my blood drawn, I'm not really squimigh so it doesn't bother me, but apparently I'm a bleeder. I had stood up and walked across the room, when something caught my eye...I glanced down and blood was creeping down my arm. I looked around the room for my teacher, and just said "oh my" and held my arm...she rushed over and grabbed my arm to make sure nothing had really gone wrong, and made me hold my arm over my head. Now I am scared to take blood from other people. We go from practicing on fake arms to real people. It sucks because my main problem is my shakeyness (go figure), so a fake arm I'm fin and confidant, then in front of a real person I get nervous, they say it comes with time...but I'm just looking for jobs where blood draws are not required from me :).

Friday, October 17, 2008

new day...same routine

I've been meaning to write...I don't really mean to only write once a month, it's just what happens.

Alot has happened in the last month too. I don't have a whole lot of time right now, but here is some tidbits maybe I'll feel more inspired later today.

School is good. I learned how to draw blood, I'm not very good at it yet, but they say that comes with time. I'm already through my first month, seven more to go. For the uninformed...I decided to try a MA (Medical Assistant) program, it's a big step down from nursing, hopefully just a temporary step...But given my current lifestyle and savings that is quickly running out I needed to do something that wasn't serving coffee, and where I can be in the medical field quickly. Besides that when I said I wanted to do nursing I always said I wanted to work in a pediatricians office, and I can do that as a MA, and not only that but I get the added bonus of office work (I'm such a weirdo I love office tasks). All of this is with the hopes that I can get a job as an MA and hopefully be on my way to RN before too long.

Libby is good, I guess she thinks my computer is dirty, she is licking it, and she keeps stratigically placing her head in my way. I'm hoping the puppy stage ends soon, I'm not sure how much more torn up papers I can stand. I also feel really bad because once a week I have a day where I go to school 8-1, then I go to work 3-11:15...so she is literally in her crate all day.

I have more to say but starbucks would probably not really be ok with me taking time off to write...so see you in a month :)