Thursday, June 19, 2008

NO LIBBY!!!

So, it is no secret that I love to sleep. So This morning I was doing that very thing. I know letting Libby sleep with me is not a great idea, but up until now it seemed to be the best way to keep tabs on her. Libby woke up at 7 something, while I stayed in bed. She was quiet so I wasn't too concerned, I assumed that she had either found a bone or gone back to sleep, so imagine my shock to wake up to this:





















Apparently, I had left a bag of paper towels on the couch the other day. Luckily she only pulled one roll out to dominate, and not all 8. Also left in the path of her destruction was a loaf of bread that she jumped up to the counter to get, and a paper bag. I have been giving her the silent treatment, the vet said not to yell at her for things that had already happen, but I couldn't help it...I have got to get her into obedience training stat.

I feel like all I ever say is "no libby!"...but especially after being at my moms things that I had already taken care of have re-emerged...like taking forever for walks...and even behavior that wasn't there before like her new fond love of barking...if you have talked to me and I've been home on the phone in the last week you probably heard the peristant barking/ whining she does when my attention is not focused on her. Her newest "trick" is that if I am on my computer she will tug on the cord to my computer.

All I know is that I am NOT ready for children...the other day I put her in her crate at "time out" for some reason and I forgot about her...definitly doesn't work on children.

Sunday, June 15, 2008

who knew chivalry wasn't dead?

So, I know most girls are looking for their knight in shining armour, the guy who holds doors, lifts heavy things, and is at your beckoned call...is it weird that I'm not.

I did some thinking today. It was brought on by a afternoon shopping trip. Nothing too exciting, just a little thing I like to call target and the grocery store. I had just gotten home and I was unloading my car. I was trying to make this first trip count the most, because any trip after was probably going to involve libby trailing behind me, but at the same time be able to juggle everything and be able to open the door with my keys. So, I was almost all the way up the stairs, when a guy literally came running up to my stairs and asked if he could help me. I politely declined, and found myself 1)weirded out that anyone even does that anymore 2) a little weirded out also because does creeper stranger really think I am going to allow him into my apt? 3) slightly offended, did stranger man think that I could not handle my own bag of lean cuisines? 4) a little confused because had I accepted his help I was a mere 4 steps away from my door, he would have had to come up the stairs we would have had to juggle bags keys and he would have taken the 4 steps to my door and put the bags down?

Now, I understand he was being polite, and I respect/ appreciate that. I dunno though, I still find it odd on so many levels. I mean I'm really not all womans lib, womans rights, woman can do anything...and thats not because I don't think they can either...I guess more or less, I don't care. I personally HATE putting gas in my car, so if someone volunteers to do it (man or woman) I would probably let them. However holding doors open, I don't know that I am that hugely impressed by that. I guess a lot of it depends on the context and situation.

I guess what I am trying to say in my own jumbly fashion is that, I am possibly too independent for my own good. I often view chivalrious (i hate spelling ps) acts as "trying too hard"...like I said before maybe in a different context or situation I will see things differently, We'll see.

Friday, June 13, 2008

make up whore?!

So if you know me at all you probably know that make up is not a high priority of mine. I typically wear basics and that is it. I often complain that I wish I was more daring...but I don't want to by make up then not wear it. SO...the other day Mary called me to inform me that Nordstroms was launching a new make up line and so they had to get rid of the old one, so all the make up was a dollar.

She told me that 2 days ago, and I just now checked, and it is true, I just bought a crap load of make up...maybe this will make me more trendy.


EVERYTHING'S $1.00! http://www.eyeslipsface.com/shop.asp. heres the link if you want to check it out.

Monday, June 9, 2008

what do you know about me facebook?

Preface: the "u" on my laptop is not functioning properly, so for the most part I catch it but should you run across a word where it is spelled wrong due to a missing "u" just know that I probably got on a roll and just didn't catch it.

So about finals time around 4 years ago my life as I knew it was changed when I was introduced to facebook. A social tool where I can find the person I shared a seat on the school bus with in 4th grade...yes please. I now find it completely neccessary to validate friendships on facebook...how else would I know what is going on with someone who I think MIGHT have been in my english class in high school, but I accepted their friendship because I didn't want to be a snob.

This is not a facebook bashing blog. I love facebook. I am slightly ashamed that I know way too much about people I maybe haven't seen for years but none the less, I love it.

There is one feature that has recently driven me crazy. The "you might know this person" feature has driving me nuts since I first noticed it on my home page. For the most part I typically ignore it. But sometimes I get sucked in...I see someone and think "how the crap might I know that person?" Or someone will come up and I will "know" the person, but in a random we happened to meet based on a mtual friend sort of way. The thing is that I have a freakishly good memory for the most part...so I usually know right away if that is the case.

So in an effort to rid myself of that annoyence I decided to face the music I opened the thing and went through one by one either deleting or friending each and every person on the list...hence a recent influx in my facebook friends list...we'll see how that works out for me.

I had a few criteria when trying to decide whether to delete or friend someone. First...do I even know you? More often than not people on the list were literally people I didn't know, that I just happen to have several mutual friends with...next was whether or not I like the person...if the answer was no it was an immediate delete...then I asked myself whether or not this person would even know who I was. I realize that people do not remember things like I do...but this one I was slightly leinient on, because really...if they don't add me back I don't really care...I don't even blame them. It was just as rediculous as it may seem I didn't want to delete everyone and be a facebook snob...I mean if you can't stalk virtual strangers than what is the point of facebook right?

What I am left wondering after this experiment is how does facebook decide whether or not I know someone? I assmed it was based on a number of mutual friends...but I found that in some cases I had either no mutual friends or maybe just one or two. For the most part it was high schoolers that go to school with kids I know from camp, or people who go to texas state that I literally just have several mutual friends.

SO in other news, I miss my dog. I got to see Libby today, I stopped at my moms on the way home from my moms. But Libby was weird. She was happy to see me, but quickly calmed down and just laid in my lap. If you have met my little Libby you know that she does not do that...she sleeps at night and that is pretty much it. I feel bad because I feel like she is depressed...I know she is a dog not really capable of emotions, but I feel guilty because I know she came from a shelter, but I don't know what happened before that, so I am scared that she thinks I am abandoning her.

Also...if you have been following my remote control drama...my batteries died AGAIN!!! Just to recap when I started this blog one of my first blogs was about my remote control batteries dying...So I replaced the batteries and went on with life. Thinking it would be a while before I would run into that problem again, you can imagine my shock when I came home today and couldn't make my remote work AGAIN. I feel like remote control batteries have potential to live forever...so why do I keep killing them?? I can't figure it out.. at first since I have the kind of remote that lights up when you hit a button that maybe I am storing it with a button pushed thus draining the battery, but not only have I been very careful about that, but I haven't even been home since Saturday. So I stole the batteries out of sisters remote (don't worry sister it's just until I go buy new ones tomorrow.) That was the only appliance left that I have not swapped batteries for yet, Maybe energizer just sucks. I will let you know :)

Sunday, June 8, 2008

life on a farm

So I am spending a few days at the farm house sitting for my aunt. I hate it here. If there was ever any doubt that I am a city girl...it is gone now.

It started last week when my stupid people pleasing nature made me volunteer in an effort to keep my Aunt from being mad at me. So here I am. At least I figured out how to get internet...my laptop won't connect so I am using a desktop for the first time in forever.

Originally i didn't care too much because I was only supposed to be here wednesday-friday...but then she called and asked if I could come saturday-monday too...I still didn't care too much because I figured I could spend my days by the pool...and it wouldn't be too bad...oh but wait the pool is broken. SUCK!!

It's just weird. I'm in what used to be my granddads house, but other than a few pictures and the colors of the walls it is nothing like what he wanted.

But true story...yesterday I looked out the window to see Jimmy (my aunts friend who lives in another small house on the land) was outside jumping around with a large stick...my guess is that he was doing tai chi or something like that...but it was quite funny to see a grown man jumping around like a little kid. Why can't he feed the cats?

PS...so when I volunteered I thought I was watching 3 cats...there are 6 here. I don't even like cats. PLUS I had to take libby to my moms because she said she couldn't come...I'm not sure what one more pet would really matter. I always say I am scared I'm going to become a cat lady...this must be what it's like.

I'm going to go to town and be with civilization for a little while...wish me luck.