Sunday, June 15, 2008

who knew chivalry wasn't dead?

So, I know most girls are looking for their knight in shining armour, the guy who holds doors, lifts heavy things, and is at your beckoned call...is it weird that I'm not.

I did some thinking today. It was brought on by a afternoon shopping trip. Nothing too exciting, just a little thing I like to call target and the grocery store. I had just gotten home and I was unloading my car. I was trying to make this first trip count the most, because any trip after was probably going to involve libby trailing behind me, but at the same time be able to juggle everything and be able to open the door with my keys. So, I was almost all the way up the stairs, when a guy literally came running up to my stairs and asked if he could help me. I politely declined, and found myself 1)weirded out that anyone even does that anymore 2) a little weirded out also because does creeper stranger really think I am going to allow him into my apt? 3) slightly offended, did stranger man think that I could not handle my own bag of lean cuisines? 4) a little confused because had I accepted his help I was a mere 4 steps away from my door, he would have had to come up the stairs we would have had to juggle bags keys and he would have taken the 4 steps to my door and put the bags down?

Now, I understand he was being polite, and I respect/ appreciate that. I dunno though, I still find it odd on so many levels. I mean I'm really not all womans lib, womans rights, woman can do anything...and thats not because I don't think they can either...I guess more or less, I don't care. I personally HATE putting gas in my car, so if someone volunteers to do it (man or woman) I would probably let them. However holding doors open, I don't know that I am that hugely impressed by that. I guess a lot of it depends on the context and situation.

I guess what I am trying to say in my own jumbly fashion is that, I am possibly too independent for my own good. I often view chivalrious (i hate spelling ps) acts as "trying too hard"...like I said before maybe in a different context or situation I will see things differently, We'll see.

No comments: