Preface: the "u" on my laptop is not functioning properly, so for the most part I catch it but should you run across a word where it is spelled wrong due to a missing "u" just know that I probably got on a roll and just didn't catch it.
So about finals time around 4 years ago my life as I knew it was changed when I was introduced to facebook. A social tool where I can find the person I shared a seat on the school bus with in 4th grade...yes please. I now find it completely neccessary to validate friendships on facebook...how else would I know what is going on with someone who I think MIGHT have been in my english class in high school, but I accepted their friendship because I didn't want to be a snob.
This is not a facebook bashing blog. I love facebook. I am slightly ashamed that I know way too much about people I maybe haven't seen for years but none the less, I love it.
There is one feature that has recently driven me crazy. The "you might know this person" feature has driving me nuts since I first noticed it on my home page. For the most part I typically ignore it. But sometimes I get sucked in...I see someone and think "how the crap might I know that person?" Or someone will come up and I will "know" the person, but in a random we happened to meet based on a mtual friend sort of way. The thing is that I have a freakishly good memory for the most part...so I usually know right away if that is the case.
So in an effort to rid myself of that annoyence I decided to face the music I opened the thing and went through one by one either deleting or friending each and every person on the list...hence a recent influx in my facebook friends list...we'll see how that works out for me.
I had a few criteria when trying to decide whether to delete or friend someone. First...do I even know you? More often than not people on the list were literally people I didn't know, that I just happen to have several mutual friends with...next was whether or not I like the person...if the answer was no it was an immediate delete...then I asked myself whether or not this person would even know who I was. I realize that people do not remember things like I do...but this one I was slightly leinient on, because really...if they don't add me back I don't really care...I don't even blame them. It was just as rediculous as it may seem I didn't want to delete everyone and be a facebook snob...I mean if you can't stalk virtual strangers than what is the point of facebook right?
What I am left wondering after this experiment is how does facebook decide whether or not I know someone? I assmed it was based on a number of mutual friends...but I found that in some cases I had either no mutual friends or maybe just one or two. For the most part it was high schoolers that go to school with kids I know from camp, or people who go to texas state that I literally just have several mutual friends.
SO in other news, I miss my dog. I got to see Libby today, I stopped at my moms on the way home from my moms. But Libby was weird. She was happy to see me, but quickly calmed down and just laid in my lap. If you have met my little Libby you know that she does not do that...she sleeps at night and that is pretty much it. I feel bad because I feel like she is depressed...I know she is a dog not really capable of emotions, but I feel guilty because I know she came from a shelter, but I don't know what happened before that, so I am scared that she thinks I am abandoning her.
Also...if you have been following my remote control drama...my batteries died AGAIN!!! Just to recap when I started this blog one of my first blogs was about my remote control batteries dying...So I replaced the batteries and went on with life. Thinking it would be a while before I would run into that problem again, you can imagine my shock when I came home today and couldn't make my remote work AGAIN. I feel like remote control batteries have potential to live forever...so why do I keep killing them?? I can't figure it out.. at first since I have the kind of remote that lights up when you hit a button that maybe I am storing it with a button pushed thus draining the battery, but not only have I been very careful about that, but I haven't even been home since Saturday. So I stole the batteries out of sisters remote (don't worry sister it's just until I go buy new ones tomorrow.) That was the only appliance left that I have not swapped batteries for yet, Maybe energizer just sucks. I will let you know :)
Monday, June 9, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment