Tuesday, November 25, 2008

cheaters never win

So apparently I've become more assertive than I realized in my old age. I got into at school...again.

I am so mad though. You see what happened was that we had a test yesterday. A test that I got an 80 on...it was really hard though, so that 80 hard to get. Well a pretty big chunk of the class wasn't there for whatever reason. So anyhoo, we got to look at our tests to see what we got after we took them, but we were supposed to turn them back in because of the chunk of the class that hadn't taken the test yet. So this morning in class imagine the surprise of me and the girl sitting next to me (who had taken the test yesterday) that the girls sitting across from us were looking at that very test (they were not there yesterday).

So the other girl said she was going to tell that they had it because it just isn't fair that we struggled to barely get good grades and they don't even show up and they get a's. So I supported her in that because it's true. So during our break she told the teacher whose test it was....apparently she went immediately to the person the test belonged to and gave him a 0. So when it got to the other girls they started going off and saying how we are supposed to have our classmates backs and that whoever told was a snitch. They kept going on about it, and purposely talking loud...I guess they thought it was me that told...and I didn't really care. Finally Erika (the other girl) told them it wasn't fair that we studied and they were going to cheat. They made up some story about how they "assumed" that they were going to be taking another test and were simply looking at it. So I called them on that and asked if the teacher had given them the very test they were looking at would they have told that they already saw the test...her answer was "would you" I told her yes...I don't need to cheat, I earn my own grades. To that she just said yeah right. So I was pissed that SHE was going to cheat but she was trying to call me a cheater. Then more talking went back and forth and she started mimicking my voice (although I hadn't said anything else) so I got mad and left class because then I was mad that the teacher whose class we were in was letting them attack me like that when I didn't do anything but ask 1 question. On my way out I stopped to tell the teacher whose test it was that I was leaving and she went in the class we were in and confronted them. To which cheater girl made this huge speech about how she would NEVER cheat, regardless of what "we" (basically me) thinks...so I brought up the point again that she herself said that if she had gotten the same test she would not have told she had the answers...but she blew that off in front of the teacher.

It just makes me mad. I am not a good student, I have never been a quick learner, I have managed to make straight a's because I am trying really hard. I am also really tired of people saying that they have kids, or they have jobs. I have a job, I am really fortunate that I get time off when I need it and that they work with my schedule, but I have a job...and other things going on in my life. It is NOT my fault other people have kids, I'm sorry, but it is not fair that because they have kids, or they have a job that they should get answers handed to them.

Just last week I have been (and actually am still) sick, I missed 2 days of school, I went to school one of the days just long enough to take a test so I wouldn't miss it, but I did miss a quiz. I came to school monday, I didn't even ask anyone else what was on that quiz...I took it and got the grade I earned...I could have asked around what questions were on the quiz, but that is cheating to me...I know I can't hold everyone to my own moral standards (that sounds like I think really highly of myself...sorry thats not how I mean it) but the field I'm going into is competitive, so I'm not ok with people coasting by and making the same grade as me. Besides, Medical assistants work in every dr. office, including the one you go to. They are the ones that give shots, take blood, explain your prescriptions to you...so do you really want to worry that you have a MA that barely passed, or cheated their way through school?

UGH...I'm taking nyquil.

No comments: