Saturday, May 30, 2009

On the Ride

"Life has moments hard to describe
Feeling great and feeling alive
Never coming down from this
Mountain we're on

Always knowing we're gonna be fine
Feeling great and feeling alive
Never coming down from this
Mountain were on
The view is so clear
And it's crazy up here
Life is amazing with you on the ride"
On the ride- Aly and AJ

My facebook status says that I am studying...so clearly I am blogging.

Life has been so crazy lately. Right now the biggest thing is that I got my dream job. I am working for Texas Children's Pediatric Associates in Cinco Ranch. Basically, it's a pediatricians office associated with Texas Children' Hospital. But getting this job was no small feat. I think it was the longest interview process I have ever been through. OK, maybe it wasn't that long, but it feels like it took For-ev-er. It was all complicated by a phone call about 2 week ago. I got a call that I did not get the job. I was really disappointed but I got an offer to interview at the Katy office...so I went and did that interview. A week later they wanted me to meet with that dr. little did I know going into that meeting that I had already gotten the job, they just wanted us to meet before I started...it was funny because the dr. kept referring to "when you start" and what "we would do" and when I talked I was very cautious to say "if I get this job" but apparently I had missed the call offering me the job before I went int that morning for the meeting.

Anyhoo, I left there feeling good, but the Katy office never felt the same as the Cinco Ranch office. I thought there was nothing I could do about it, I was just going to have to get used to the Katy office, because as far as I was concerned Cinco Ranch was no longer an option. I liked the Katy office, it was just so much bigger (there are 5 dr's versus 3 in Cinco Ranch) and the Katy office is actually in a hospital while Cinco is free standing. So Wednesday afternoon, I was home relaxing, I had just finished my externship that morning, and since I didn't have a job I was taking advantage of the downtime. Around 3 I got the call, it was from the HR dept in Texas Childrens. So I answered and the girl started talking about offering me both positions. I was shocked and confused since like I said I thought Cinco ranch was no longer an option. She had gone into the spiel about benefits and
I was still stuck in my head on the fact that she said "both offices wanted to hire me" so finally I found a break in the conversation to ask about it. I asked "I'm sorry I'm just really confused right now, I thought I didn't get the cinco ranch job?" thats when she told me that they had offered the job to someone else but it didn't work out so they wanted me.

My pride was a little hurt by being the second choice...I was even tempted to take the Katy office for that reason but I thought about it more. The reason I was given about the Cinco office was that it was a new office and since I was new it would be a little harder to train me. So the more I thought about it, the more I realized it was good that I was the second choice, because, it makes no logical sense for them to hire me. I'm sure there were others that had more experience than me, thats not hard seeing as I have no experience. But they like me enough that they don't care and they are willing to take that chance on me. So, I took the Cinco Ranch position. I am really excited. Right now I am waiting for my criminal background check to clear before I can start working. So I'm enjoying a little vacay before my life is about to get crazy.

And thats pretty much where I am now, just waiting. I'm so happy about where my life is going right now. I am finally starting a career I love. I have my first 401k, I worked really hard and it's paying off that I got my dream job right out of school. I'm a little nervous that things are going to well. Part of me (the pessimistic part that is) is a little worried that if I am getting my dream job now, then where do I go from here. But I still want to go back to school to get my RN, so I feel like that leaves plenty of room for growth.

I really need to be studying for my certification exam. It's in the end of July, but I have already been out of school for a month and it's a little scary how much I have already forgotten. Especially now that I am in pediatrics, it's really important that I remember the normal ranges for adults...And the more specifics that I don't deal with everyday...the parts of the body...front office stuff...insurance. So I am trying to study now and just keep it all in my head instead of panicking and having to cram before the exam.

No comments: