Tuesday, October 20, 2009

sick and tired...

So today has been less than stellar. I actually had a day off. I have been building it up for the last week or so. I took today off for a undisclosed doctor appt. I didn't need the whole day...ok well i kinda did for my own sanity, but not the point.

So imagine my dismay when over the weekend I started having ear pain. I knew it was probably just congestion, but I have occasionally gotten ear infections from this, so this is when it started creeping in my head that I might need to make another dr appt for today. But I REALLY didn't want to, I hate going to the dr when I know it's really not a big deal. If I could prescribe myself antibiotics that would be perfect because that was all I wanted. Anyhoo, it doesn't matter because at that point I didn't make a appt.

Then yesterday i had a scratchy throat and a very low grade temp (99.9)...not even in fever territory. Throughout the day I also noticed my neck was swollen and sore... I just felt bad. but by the time i got home from work it was too late to try to make an appt with my dr... and I still wasn't convinced I needed to...it was more just a matter of the fact that I had the time off and I knew if it got worse I wouldn't have the luxury of having time off later on.

So I woke up this morning throat even scratchier, but my temp was back down. I almost didn't call, but I did because like I said before, I don't normally have time to go to the dr. Really I thought if this was just a matter of starting antibiotics that I wanted to start them and be done with being sick. So I went to the dr. and was in the waiting room, when a NEWS CREW came in. Are you kidding me? They were asking if anyone had flu...which I was thinking was some sort of HIPAA violation. Of course my body chose that moment to cough, I tried so hard to stifle it, but it came out. They asked if I had flu, and I said no...I really wanted to tell them off about all the swine flu reporting hysteria and the craziness they have caused to my life, but I'm pretty sure Texas Childrens would not be ok with that, so I kept my mouth shut. Luckily I got called back pretty quickly.

Unlucky is when I got called back basically long story short, why have i been sick...I have MONO again. Here is a little lesson for all of you... while I cannot "catch" mono again, i can (and am) relapsing. And even more encouraging is that she said this will probably happen any time I get sick for at least the next year...

THEN...unrelated I went home before my other appt...I was just on my computer, probably facebook, when out of nowhere my eye started hurting like a dart had just been thrown at it, ok not that bad, but still it really hurt. I could barely open my eye enough to get my contact out... sometimes it hurts if I get something on my contact or something, but this wouldn't go away, I couldn't open my eyes and actually fell asleep since I couldn't open them.

So I kept my glasses on and went to my other appt. The undisclosed appt didn't go well, then I decided to go to the eye dr. Since my lazy day had effectively been ruined already. So I now also have a corneal abrasion.

Today can only get better...right?

Friday, October 9, 2009

Long overdue

I am the worst blogger ever...I'm just saying.

I have good intentions, there are about 9 blogs in my draft folder that I don't post. Part of me is wondering if this blog is going to make it an even 10.

I just have this inner battle when I go to blog. Do you people even care what I'm going to say? Do I have anything worth blogging about? and more often than not I get tired of having to edit my own thinking because I don't know who reads this.

So it's one of the most wonderful times of the year. Sweatshirt/ hoodie weather. My only real delimma is that I don't have a job where I can really wear them anymore. For most of the year I am lucky that my work uniform involves scrubs and tennis shoes, but my heart sinks a little when I see people come in wearing comfy looking sweatshirts. I also love long sleeved t shirts. The cool part about my job is that we can wear Texas Childrens T shirts with our scrubs, but it just sucks because you can only get them from the hospital, well we can order them, but it seems like a complicated process. All of that to say I need to see if I can get the long sleeved ones.

Anyone keeping track on anemia-gate 09...I still love ice...I'm still tired ALL the time...I'm wondering if I have to learn to live with it.

So I am STILL trying to find a church. I'm not going to lie that I am not the most motivated person in this, I really have tried, but I just get so overwhelmed that I can't bring myself to keep trying, then I wind up back at square 1. There was a church that I was going to try, Crosspoint, but I recently found out that my supervisor and manager both go there, while I guess it doesn't really matter, I just think it's better to keep some things separate, and more for their sake, I don't want to invade on their lives, they were there first. I've gone to 2nd baptist, it's kinda like my safety I guess, if in doubt I know I can go there, but it's so big it's hard to not feel like an outsider, I just don't know if I want to go there long term. This whole process is so awkward, I hate doing it alone. When you try churches with someone else it's easier to do I think because you have that person with you so your not waiting for someone to come talk to you, you have that person, but when you are by yourself the whole thing is so awkward, you don't have anyone to talk to, so you just sit quietly, until someone pities you and comes to talk to you, but once you pass the initial conversation phase its just weird, I can't explain the phenomena.

Flu season is killing me. I've almost been at my job for 4 months now, so while I feel pretty self competent in the grand scheme of life I'm still new. It's just so exhausting, don't get me wrong, I love my job...but I feel like it consumes my life. I wake up, go to work, come home, go to bed, repeat. I'm so tired at the end of the day...I have no desire to do anything else.

Anyhoo, I think I'm commiting to posting this one...hooray