Tuesday, October 20, 2009

sick and tired...

So today has been less than stellar. I actually had a day off. I have been building it up for the last week or so. I took today off for a undisclosed doctor appt. I didn't need the whole day...ok well i kinda did for my own sanity, but not the point.

So imagine my dismay when over the weekend I started having ear pain. I knew it was probably just congestion, but I have occasionally gotten ear infections from this, so this is when it started creeping in my head that I might need to make another dr appt for today. But I REALLY didn't want to, I hate going to the dr when I know it's really not a big deal. If I could prescribe myself antibiotics that would be perfect because that was all I wanted. Anyhoo, it doesn't matter because at that point I didn't make a appt.

Then yesterday i had a scratchy throat and a very low grade temp (99.9)...not even in fever territory. Throughout the day I also noticed my neck was swollen and sore... I just felt bad. but by the time i got home from work it was too late to try to make an appt with my dr... and I still wasn't convinced I needed to...it was more just a matter of the fact that I had the time off and I knew if it got worse I wouldn't have the luxury of having time off later on.

So I woke up this morning throat even scratchier, but my temp was back down. I almost didn't call, but I did because like I said before, I don't normally have time to go to the dr. Really I thought if this was just a matter of starting antibiotics that I wanted to start them and be done with being sick. So I went to the dr. and was in the waiting room, when a NEWS CREW came in. Are you kidding me? They were asking if anyone had flu...which I was thinking was some sort of HIPAA violation. Of course my body chose that moment to cough, I tried so hard to stifle it, but it came out. They asked if I had flu, and I said no...I really wanted to tell them off about all the swine flu reporting hysteria and the craziness they have caused to my life, but I'm pretty sure Texas Childrens would not be ok with that, so I kept my mouth shut. Luckily I got called back pretty quickly.

Unlucky is when I got called back basically long story short, why have i been sick...I have MONO again. Here is a little lesson for all of you... while I cannot "catch" mono again, i can (and am) relapsing. And even more encouraging is that she said this will probably happen any time I get sick for at least the next year...

THEN...unrelated I went home before my other appt...I was just on my computer, probably facebook, when out of nowhere my eye started hurting like a dart had just been thrown at it, ok not that bad, but still it really hurt. I could barely open my eye enough to get my contact out... sometimes it hurts if I get something on my contact or something, but this wouldn't go away, I couldn't open my eyes and actually fell asleep since I couldn't open them.

So I kept my glasses on and went to my other appt. The undisclosed appt didn't go well, then I decided to go to the eye dr. Since my lazy day had effectively been ruined already. So I now also have a corneal abrasion.

Today can only get better...right?

1 comment:

windydays27 said...

I don't even know where to begin, other than I wish I could hug you! I am so sorry you're relapsing with mono, even sorrier that since you've only been with us a short time, you're bound to get sick some more in the next year. And of course that means mono relapse every time...and I am even more sorry that the undisclosed visit didn't go well. And to top it all off, eye issues to boot! I wish I could bring you some Oreos, but my girls are in bed. Let me know if I can do anything for you, sweetie!