true story...as a young child I had blonde hair. While for the most part I have grown out of the blonde hair and have had brown hair as long as I can remember, I think some part of me deep inside has held on to the blonde in me.
Ok, so I was getting ready for work this morning, I had a few moments to spare so I compulsively checked my myspace...I glanced at the part that says what your friends have been doing (you know the stalky thingy) and it said "Stephanie has added photos to her Hawaii album" I thought for a minute (keep in mind it was 4 am)...Why would Stephanie be adding Hawaii pictures now...she hasn't been in years. The weird part is that my sister is currently in Florida (unless she lied to me and is actually in Hawaii)...I looked at the pictures closer and noticed one was of a couple kissing... surely that is not my sister I thought to myself...well...it was not my biological sister, but my phi lamb grand little sis who also bears the name Stephanie.
Apparently I say odd things at 4 am... My friend at work Mary reminded me the other day of how one time we were opening and talking about one of my favorite subjects...Keeping up with the Kardashians. Well everyone was talking about Khloe and referring to her as "the fat one:"...when apparently (I have no recollection of this) I said "stop calling her fat, not everyone can help it if they are the bigger sister"
Speaking of being the fat sister, I just got home from Chilis...I thought when I was ordering "I feel like being semi healthy...today I want a blackbean burger" a generally healthy choice, at least a lot better than the decisions I tend to make...Oh but wait...I added cheese, removed pickles and onions, and french fries instead of vegetables...oh well you win some you lose some.
I've been thinking a lot about changes. I was sitting at the mall the other day...watching people walk by while sister was finishing her mani. I have never considered myself hugely trendy...in fact I'm usually a season or 2 behind. It takes me a while to warm up to new fashion ideas. I was thinking about it and I distinctly remember in 7th grade when I made the declaration that I would always have bangs...I decided that my forehead was too big for me to ever lose the bangs. Well some time between then and early high school I lost the bangs...it was a slow progression (that I blame soley on Jennifer Aniston) the layers got longer and longer until the front that was formerly bangs grew into a layer near my chin. Until bangs were so 1995...and I balked at the fact that I ever had them. As I grew older I think I grew less tolerable of change...I remember as a college student saying "ugh, I can't believe bangs are coming back...who does that?" Before I knew it my bangs were again getting shorter and shorter...until I am now writing this with a swoop bang much like most of the population that is my age.
I promise I am going somewhere with all of this mundane talk about my hair...it made me realize what a jerk I can be sometimes. I wouldn't go as far to say that I am judgemental...because I feel like I am fairly open minded...but I do think I am a hypocrite...I mean I'm using the hair thing as an example...but why is it lame when I am not one of the ones doing something....then it becomes more ok as I cross the line and find myself doing the same thing I once made fun of.
Sunday, April 27, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment