So, I know divorce is quite common in this day and age...but is it really something that you woud get done in a van on the side of the road...much like how you might get a windshield fixed (if you are shady)...that is something that I think about everytime I get to the intersection of Hwy 6 and briar forest. I wish I had taken a picture...I go by there pretty much everyday, but it's a busy area, and I don't typically drive with my camera ready, maybe tomorrow I will make a point to.
Anyhoo, my point is this van...it sits on the corner in a gas station parking lot proclaiming for the world to see that they do quick and easy divorces. There is so much I want to know about this whole process seeing as I have never been married, thus not had too much use for a divorce... But I want to know if people actually go this route...there have been so many times I have considered stopping by that gas station just to get a glimpse of how this process works, but I am usually on my way to do something else when I pass it.
I just don't understand exactly how a legitimate divorce works...let alone a shady one. Like most of the adults in America my own parents are divorced, but I guess it's not one of those things they show you while it's happening so that you will know how to when you have to go through it one day.
I mean I know papers get filed, things get split...I vaguely remember the court house being involved when I was little...but when you get divorced in a van...do both people have to go? perhaps you hop in the van and go serve the papers in the divorce van.
How do they guarentee that they can make the process quick and easy. Do they have a song and dance routine that they do to ease the pain that your marriage is falling apart? Do they immediately take you for a ride in the van to pick up a new husband/ wife? Maybe they drug you and you don't remember that you were ever married to begin with.
I just don't think a divorce is something you can cut corners on. I dunno, wouldn't it suck if you went to this divorce van to get a divorce, you do every thing perfectly, and you are legitimately single again...until you go to get remarried to find all that time that you were actually still married and now attempting to be a polygamist. I mean I guess I enjoy a bargain as much as the next person...but I strongly believe sometimes you have to pay more for quality...and this is one of those times I don't think you should pinch pennies.
Maybe I'm a snob...maybe this is a completely normal way to go about getting a divorce and I'm just a snob who insists on getting her divorces at a courthouse. I guess now I just need to get married so I can get my first divorce to find out.
Wednesday, April 30, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment