Friday, April 25, 2008

i dislike cvs...

So, I really don't like drug stores, I don't really know what it is, they just feel skeezy to me. I avoid them for the most part. So imagine my dissapointment when I woke up this morning and realized I would probably need to go to one.

Today started out...not like most, I got to sleep in. But thanks to Starbucks, I now wake up hungry when I sleep past 4 am...so I woke up around 9...starving. I rolled over and reached for my remote control to watch a little regis and kelly before getting up and finding food. I hit the power button and nothing. This has been a common problem lately, apparently my remote control drains batteries, we don't have any batteries...and I have already switched the remote batteries with virtually every other appliance with batteries in my house...so I manage to turn the tv on using the other remote...but it was on E!. That would normally not be a problem, I love E! and even with a functioning remote would leave it on E! for hours...but not this morning...it was the E! true hollywood story of Tyra Banks. So I force myself up...good thing I was hungry...I get minimally dressed, which basically means changing t-shirts and shorts for a different t shirt and shorts, put my hair in a pony tail brush my teeth and head out.

I decided I wanted panera for breakfast, a chocolate chip bagel with rasberry cream cheese (hey, it's the day after my birthday...I can still eat what I want). On the way there I was thinking about where I would go to get batteries, I don't live near a target, my first choice...walmart isn't too far, but not really on my way...and I don't really like going to walmart..especially for 1 thing...when I passed a cvs...I don't like drug stores, but it seemed like the best option for just running in and getting 2 things (I had also decided I needed a dr. pepper).

So I go in...drug stores have a distinct smell...I don't know what it is, cheap merchandise mixed with prescriptions maybe. Luckily batteries are right when you walk in...so I grabbed some. I wasthen compelled to walk around a bit. I don't know where that came from, I normally hate browsing, I'm a go get what you need and out kinda girl. Maybe it is something they put in the air...part of that weird smell perhaps it is laced with something. So I walk towards the drinks but walking slowly so that I don't miss anything I may or may not need walking by. One thing I noticed was pomegranite 7 up...SICK!!! I don't love 7 up to begin with, probably because I equate it with being sick like every other kid in america to was made to drink it when they were sick...and I have always been a little grossed out by this new trend to add flavors to various drinks, but if people enjoy vanilla, cherry, lemon...whatever added to their drink I'm not here to judge...but POMIGRANITE!? So I make it to the drink case manage to get a normal dr. pepper (don't worry I checked twice) and start toward the register...with candy stratigically placed to the right. I glanced over, I can usually resist...especially at 9:30 am...but for whatever reason I decided I NEEDED york peppermint patties (which I am enjoying as I write this) . So I wait to pay, feeling only minimally duped by cvs...I mean, I got what I needed, with only 1 extra item...so I still felt like I had my dignity, until I set my stuff on the counter...I glanced to the right...where I saw it in all it's glory, the jumbo people crossword puzzle book. it might as well have had a beam of light shining on it. I snatched it up before the old man standing behind me could even think about perhaps grabbing it for himself. So slightly ashamed but mostly excited at the prospect of spending the rest of my day doing crossword puzzles about celebrities...I pay my $23 and leave.

Then I got back in my car and reazlied what had just happened...I just paid $10 for a crossword puzzle book...thatI would probably do 2-3 puzzles today...then the book would wind up shoved under my bed until I have to clean it out because I'm looking for a shoe that I haven't seen in months...and then promptly gets put in another pile of useless stuff never to be seen again.

Who am I ?!...

No comments: