call me a spoiled brat...but I'm upset...I didn't get what I want.
So as most of you know, this week I am finding out my assignment for externship (read as I am finding out the person I am going to be working for, for free for a month). Anyone who has even heard of me knows that I want to work in pediatrics, that is the only reason I even got this degree, working with kids is what I have wanted to do with my life pretty much from the time I stopped being a kid myself.
Well, although I still don't know my actual site yet, I won't until tomorrow, I did find out the specialty I will be in...cardiology...I'm not even good at cardiology, I can't read an EKG, cardiology was my first "b" in school. I am trying to look on the bright side, cardiology is a very technical field, and she wouldn't have placed me there if she didn't think I was capable, but...it just upsets me that all I have wanted was peds, and in fact when asked when asked what I didn't want to do...I said geriatrics...what part of the population would you say mostly goes to a cardiologist???
Just to explain the process a little, a few weeks ago we were asked to fill out a paper with 3 preferences of field and area of town. I'm a reasonable adult, I was aware I may not get my first choice in either category...but I didn't get anything I even remotely wrote down in either category. for field I said 1) pediatrics 2) family medicine (pretty much a normal dr. office) or 3) OB/GYN for area of town I put katy, memorial or sugarland...but I got a cardiologist near the galleria I think, I'm still not real sure where exactly I'll be. I just know it's towards down town...the OPPOSITE of where I wanted. I'm frustrated because I don't understand why I even filled out any preferences when they were just going to do what they want anyway. I hate traffic...I hate cardiology...and right now I hate my life... maybe I should just stay at starbucks at least I'm good at that :(
Tuesday, April 14, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment