So work day number 2 went alright. I am just frustrated. I guess when I decided to go into health care, I had this perception that you got to help people and feel good about that, and that everyone would act like adults to get whatever needed to be done...done. Well I was wrong. I expected there to be standards and red tape that would make things a little harder...but I think what is more frustrating is that none of that bothers me...it's literally the people I work with, and I have only known them for 2 days now.
I came into this knowing that Dr's are a bit cocky, and don't always work well with others, but I guess the point that bothers me is that they literally think they are too good to talk to the people working for them. Not one of the dr's I work with know who I am, I thought I had accomplished something when I smiled at one and got a half smile back. But when did that become ok...to treat people who are working their butts off for you like crap. I completely respect doctors, it's a hard job, a hard job I couldn't do, I guess I just come from the school of thought that it takes respect to get respect, not that I expect them to cater to me at all...but is it too much to ask to be treated like a human being?
What is worse is the other MA's. All they have on me is a few years experience...and one of them is on externship too, and just started last week...I can understand doing dirty work, it just bothers me when the one who just started last week does it to me, I mean she has to learn too. Today I she was told to go pick up a stool sample...she turned and asked me to go get it...I did it, I know better than to say no and honestly I really don't care about the dirty work, it's more the attitude that goes with it.
Later on today one of the MAs asked me if I knew how to do a vision and hearing test, I told her no...we hadn't really talked too much about that in school, but it's easy to pick up I knew just watching someone do it once would be fine. So she told me to go with the other extern and watch her so I could learn...cool, I like learning...so I left the room to find the girl I was to watch, once I found her she needed to go back in the office to get something, so I went with her...and the MA told her to make sure I watched how to do the tests...seriously, I was right there, she saw me, it's not like I disappeared to avoid it or something...I'm not a 3rd grader, I am in this externship to learn, why would I waste my time and their time goofing off? I understand not everyone takes things seriously, but give me a chance to prove I am trying before you start assuming you know me.
What makes all this worse, is that the MA that picks on me, for those of you who work at starbucks, think Ashley...but worse, has started making me nervous to the point that I mess up more when I'm around her because I am so scared. If she would just let me figure out what I'm supposed to do and correct me without making me feel like I'm the dumbest person ever for getting whatever wrong, she would see that I am smart, I am good at what I do, and I wouldn't make dumb mistakes.
People keep telling me to not take all this personally, that it's just the politics of a dr. office, but it's so hard for me, I take everything personally, especially when things are directed at me. I hate to say it, but I can't wait until we get another student, to take the pressure off me, but I would also like to prove that not everyone is like that...that I can treat someone who is in a position "below" me with dignity and respect remembering that we all make mistakes.
Wednesday, April 22, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment