Monday, May 26, 2008

I hate myself...

I'm tired of being accused of not sharing my feelings...

I'm so mad right now. I'm tired of the way people treat me...and I'm more tired of the fact that now that I have finally stuck up for myself it makes me a bad person. I'm tired of being blamed for things I can't control, I'm tired of regretting being nice. I'm tired of this place of letting everyone get to me to the point where I hate myself. I'm even tired of libby trying to chew on my arm.

I don't know what to say or do. I honestly hate the fact that I want to make people happy. I know there is a line and areas of grey, but I'm am pretty black and white.

I started out the day upset. I called my sister to tell her something (Libby had taken a bag of clothes from her room and drug them into my room to sleep with them)...and the boy she is staying with took her phone and was saying all this crap about my dog being a whore blah blah blah. Honestly I couldn't care less about that. If he wants to be immature and talk about my dog then whatever. But I don't feel like you should talk to someone you don't know or have never met let alone talked to. So then I was mad that he talked to me like that, then when my sister got back on the phone all she did was say that he was "playing" ...so we talked for like 30 more seconds when I could hear him in the background telling her to get off the phone with me...that is what really bothers me. She is supposed to be MY sister. I am the one who edured sharing a room with her, I'm the one who knows how she got the scar on her eye, I'm the one who has a birthmark on my back in almost the same exact spot as her, I am the one who got a black eye from her, I am the one with a scar on my left arm because on her...not him. Joking or not I don't think that is ok...not only on his part but on her part either.

She called me a little later and I told her why I was mad. All she would say was "ok" in a annoyed tone and that he was just kidding. So then I was more upset that she didn't seem to care at all about me and my side of the story. I understand that she has no control over him and what he says/does..but she didn't even make and appempt to apologize or make him stop. And ultimately when he told her to get off the phone she did. All I'm saying is that if one of my friends talked to her like that i would have said stop or said something to me when I got the phone back.

The if that didn't make me mad enough...So I was just reading someone I work withs myspace note survey thing and one of the questions was "who do you dislike the most" her answer was "leigh's sister" let me preface this with...my sister had planned on letting somone live in her room while she is in Florida and has the apt here so she can save some money. So I knew somoeone at work and talked to her about it. She agreed to it, so in a effort to not be in the middle i wanted the two of them to meet to tralk about rules/ expectations. Well the girl stood stephanie u twice...so she said no to the whole deal...which I can't honestly blame her for, Steph was accepting a lot of responsibility by even letting her move in with stephs name on the lease and everything. We all know that I am generally not late...but I think especially when someone is doing you a favor you do anything you can to keep that commitment. Stephanie said if she couldn't come that day how did she know she would pay rent or anything. For that I am sorry. I can understand being mad I can see being upset, but what frustrates me is blaming stephanie for this...and being mad at her. It's not like she sad no for fun ...she wanted her to move in, but when she was blown off what is she supposed to do.

I hate being in the middle.

Sunday, May 25, 2008

I think I'm alone now

For the first time ever in my life I live alone. Ok, maybe not completly...obviously sister still pays most of the rent and half of the bills...but last time I checked starbucks did not start paying a mil.

It's weird, but it hasn't really hit me. I mean sister has left for weeks at at time before...so it just feels like a vacay. I mean it is a big deal to me...I am sad...but...lets think logically people...all her stuff is still here, she has to come back sometime. Plus before we moved to Houston she had lived in California for 3 years, so it's not like I am going to have to get used to her not being around.

She won't admit it but she misses Libby. Today I was talking to her and telling her that I had dropped her off to be groomed and when I picked her up she seemed really sad and I was worried that she might have thought I had abandoned her. Sisters response was I sure that it wasn't because she missed her (libby missed sister). Libby does sit in front of her door...so I guess she does some.

I miss sister (just a little) I realized it yesterday (ps she left yesterday morning)...when I wanted a snack of cereal. We are out of milk. Normally I just hold out until she buys some (not because I'm a jerk but a) I rarely drink milk and b) I rarely go to grocery stores)...but if I try that I'm not going to have milk until July. Granted, I don't like milk...I only use it in cereal. I hate buying milk...I never use it all half the time I wind up throwing away a unopened carton of milk because I forget it. I also miss that she used to take Libby on her last walk of the night. Considering I go to bed somewhere around 9...she would take libby out before bed...so that she wouldn't have an accident.

Speaking of accidents...for someone who has never had a dog I am quite proud to say that Libby is housebroken. I've had her for a week and a half. I think it's been a few days since she has had an accident in the house...and it's not like I'm home to take her out all the time, that means she has figured out that I will take her out eventually. I'm sure there will still be accidents, as I am writing this I had to look down to make sure she wasn't doing it right this minute...but for the most part we are doing great. I have also broken the habit of letting her on my bed. I will let her cuddle sometimes but the second she bites or licks my face she has to get down. It's been almost a week since she has slept in my bed...I let her on tuesday night, but it was more because I was upset...not because she wanted to.

I didn't like this last week very much...I'm not really one for posting every detail...and it would take a REALLY long time and a lot of explaining, so all of that to say...this week blew.

So today I went to the pool for a little while and did some nursing entrance exam studying. I felt like I was studying for the SAT...which isn't good because I didn't do that great on the SAT, I don't even remember what I got but I don't think I studied at all. But a lot of the questions were if blank is to blank then what is blank to blank. Well there was one section that you had to pick out a mispelled word in a series of sentences. I don't remember what the specific questions were...but on a quick scan of the questions I answered B...the sentence was Max was their to do something (I don't remember what). Obviously, that was wrong because it should have been "there" and not "their" so I circle it...when I was checking my answers I was wrong. I really thought it was a misprint...I was mad for a little while until I figured it out...the instructions asked for the one that was spelled wrong...not the one that was gramatically wrong. I still think that is a cheap shot...but at least now I know what to expect from those mo-fo's.

Sunday, May 18, 2008

and then I was like...whatever

It has recently been brought to my attention that I very frequently use the word whatever. Although I have always been aware that I say it alot I never really realized that it is a defining speech pattern of mine until the other day.

So Libby woke up at 4:30am. Although I am actually used to waking up then, it doesn't really make me a fan. Anyhoo, I had promised Mary that I would bring Libby through the drive thru at starbucks (they frown upon me bringing her in the store...whatever..SEE I just did it, and I really didn't even do it on purpose) So, decided to take Libby because it would be before the rush. So I pull thru and Bob answers. He says the spiel, and I said "hey bob, it's leigh" I told him my order (don't worry, it was passion tea which has no caffine)...but apparently he didn't realize it was me (because who wakes up that early on their day off) until...he said something else to me and I said "whatever, I'll see you at the window" Mary later told me that was what tipped him off that it was me...apparently he didn't hear me say my name.

What makes that even funnier is just the day before that happened he mentioned my frequent use of the word. I wonder if it bothers him. I thought about trying to count how many times I use it in one day, but I don't think I can, it is such a natural part of my speech that I don't even realize how much I say it.

I don't even know where it came from. I mean I know the first time I remember hearing it was clueless...sometime in middle school. But I feel like more recently it has become a staple in my vocabulary.

Someone once told me I have a interesting vocabulary. I'm not sure what to make of that. I feel kinda bad because I can't lie most of my speech patterns are not original. In fact the more I think about it Katie Schrank is responsible for most of them. In my own defense...all of phi lamb talked like her and all of camp talks like her so virtually everyone I know talks like her...I can't help it. I remember in college when a defining speech pattern for a phi lamb was "I'm not going to lie" I guess it is good that since it was a christian sorority that we didn't lie.

It's just funny to think about where I pick up things...like "friend", "get excited", "jsyk", "I'm just sayin", "get a grip", "lets talk about"...even "sister" is not original as most people think. Although I think I might have actually started "get excited"

At work I often get told I talk too fast. Every once in a while someone will tell me to slow down...it's usually old men. Maybe they should learn to listen faster. I also amazed everybody with my ability to rap "ice ice baby" pretty fast.

Alright stop collaborate and listen...

Saturday, May 17, 2008

So, the only way I am even able to write this is because Libby is sleeping next to me. Otherwise she requires all of my attention. I don't know if she is unusually clingy but I can't even go to the bathroom without her by my side. I always hated it when I would hear people compare pets to children, and I'm not doing that per se, but dang...she has become my life as sad as it might be.

I realized it was bad when I go to work and on my breaks the first thing I do is call (my sister, not the dog) and check on her.

She is really funny though, she is pretty small, seven pounds to be exact, but somehow she manages to take up most of my bed. Me...the same person who jokes that even when she is married she wants seperate rooms...because she does not like to share her bed. The other night she almost took out my eye, when I looked up to find her while I was sleeping she darted at my face and hit me square in the eye...it hurt so bad, I thought if I had to go to the dr. how was I going to explain that my dog hit me in the eye.

The first day I was frustrated, she isn't housebroken, she won't leave my side, she bites (playfully of course), licks my face...I was wondering if I had made a really bad decision. The next day I had to work, and my sister spent most of the day with her. When I got home and got the report that she had still been going to the bathroom on the carpet, that she had been biting, and wouldn't let my sister leave...I again questioned my decision...Friday I was off work...and when I had to wake up at 4 am to make sure that she wouldn't pee in my bed...I wondered who I became. but at some point I talked to my mom...and thought about taking her over there because I am not sure that I can handle it...but I can't do it...the thought of leaving her at my moms and not being with her makes me sad...I know I'm lame. It's just so weird, I never thought I was a pet person, I have never even kinda wanted a pet until last week. But I love that she is excited when I come home...I love that she just wants to sit next to me, even though I am a little concerned I even love that she cries when I leave.

In life other than my puppy...sister is leaving in a week...that is weird. I feel like we still just moved here. So much has happened, and I am so glad to have had this time to find myself a little more with the security of having her around, and I'm also excited to take the next step. As lame and cliche as that sounds...I think I'm finally ready.

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Meet Libby...


I am now a brand new puppy mommy! I have a 6 month old chihuahua beagle mix, her name is Libby. She has a lot of energy and hates being seperated from me. She is sitting next to me right now chewing a bone because that is the only way she will let my type.


I adopted her from a shelter, so I don't really know too much about her. But I am quickly learning! She loves the camera, and her bunny. She cries in the crate, I know this is a huge mistake but I'm going to let her sleep with me tonight...then let her get more used to the crate during the day while I work and eventually have her in the crate....and she just made a hole in my sheets...oh bother.


at least she is cute...




Tuesday, May 13, 2008

I'm a puppy mom!!

I know I have always said that I don't want a pet...BUT...I'm going to be a puppy mom. I am adopting a precious little puppy girl...she is a rat terrier and a year old, full grown she is about 7 pounds. I haven't decided on a name, but her current name is Henrietta. I am thinking about Daisy, or Penny, or Roda, and maybe Bella...we'll have to see what she is like before I decide. I have already promised her pink accessories. I'm going to officially adopt her tomorrow, then she has to get spayed (I do not wish to be a puppy grandma), so I can pick her up hopefully by thursday.

Who knew things would change :)

Sunday, May 11, 2008

No they did-ent...

Apparently my trend is to blog twice in one day...

I am just slightly annoyed/ confused

OK...so I somehow wound up reading something about the 20 worst food choices you can make. Much to my relief I don't really eat any of the things on the list nor are half of the resturants even in Texas...with one exception. My beloved chilis. not only is my beloved chilis on the bad list, but my favorite thing to eat there was the offending food.

Honey chipotle chicken crispers. Let me preface this with I am not claiming that I ever thought they had any nutritional value, nor am I delusional enough to believe that they were even marginally healthy. That is not my point...I am aware that they probably have enough calories for 3 days. My annoyance is that the article stated "instead try the fajita pita"...in all reality I actually enjoy the pita...but that is no subsitution for chicken crispers.

I guess they are just trying to say if your going to eat out and don't want to be a fatty then you should eat this. But really it just reminds me of target...that is not going to make sense to anyone but Jenn.

Once in Ft. Worth Jenn and I went to target...I don't remember what we were looking for...or if we were looking for anything specific to begin with but we at some point noticed these little signs...they would be under random items that I guess were on sale or something but were sold out and they were like "we are out of sheet, but instead we have lawn furniture" there we several of them we still laugh about it. It was just funny, they would take the most random items and replace them with something that couldn't even be remotely related.

All of that to say that is how I feel about the chilis subsitutions. I had chilis for lunch today, I had a black bean burger...and I also this time got vegtables instead of subbing french fries this time...go me.

I am really excited, I don't have to work until thursday...and even then I don't work until 11:45am. Last night I stayed up until 1 am...and when the storm woke me up I didn't have to panic that it was cutting into my very important sleep time (however, actually had I been working I would have already been at work for and hour when the storm came). So get excited that only leaves more time for mindless blogs :)

Madre day

You know who is awesome....Tiffany Humes :) just kidding...well I'm not kidding that she is awesome, but only by calling her out by name...just had to show some love. She is also a new madre...as are most of my friends. When did I get to the age where now my friends celebrate mothers day as mothers and not for their own mothers?

I just got home from a wild and crazy mothers day. ok, it wasn't wild and or crazy...but it was a day. Sister and I drove to our moms new house way out in the boondocks. Then went to chilis, basically because it was the only place to go all the way out there, then we went to walmart to look at plants, I was a little scared that sister had volunteered us to do the garden today...but we didn't thank goodness, I hate being dirty. Then sister and I began the journey home and here I am. I got aquainted with sisters new gps...between the radio, the radar detector and the gps...there is not a quiet moment in that car.

I also volunteered to see my mother again on tuesday...who does that? Since sister said we couldn't do birthday/ mothers day I decided to do look at an apartment/ birthday. I have been looking online and I found a apt that I really like. It's in Cinco Ranch (and we all know how I love spainglish)...it has a garage and my apt would be upstairs, and it has wood floors...I am just trying to decide it the cheaper price for living toward Katy is worth living further out of town. I mean for the most part I am used to living in a small city near a larger one (i.e. san marcos was 30 minutes from Austin),and I already live in very west Houston, and have no real desire to move much further in...the closest I would really consider would be beltway-ish...but even that is a little further in than I am comfortable with.

I have also made another consideration that I have always said I would never do... a puppy. I know, I always say how I don't want a pet, and I'm really not convinced I want one, I feel like it's a big responsibility, and if I can't commit to being home I would feel bad leaving it locked in a tiny apt all the time. But I also think living by myself for the first time it would be nice to have someone who is forced to love me :)...and can bark if strangers approach. But my biggest concern is how dogs smell...I don't know if there are any non smelly ones. And it better not lick me...that is gross.

Sorry this wasn't funny...I'm watching Jon and Kate plus 8...so I'm not really focused.

Friday, May 9, 2008

Geriaticocity

I have been 26 for almost 2 weeks now. I'm pretty much just chillin and waiting for the AARP meetings to start (is it bad that I don't know what that stands for? I even just googled it and I could only find what it does, not what it stands for...no wait I just looked on wikipedia it stands for "American Association for Retired Persons")

I am noticing more and more my geriatric tendicies...I mean we all already know about my love for luby's, golden girls and mahjongg.

a recent series of events (and by recent I mean an hour ago) has reenforced my feelings, but most of them are caused by my job.

So, I got home from work today and ate my lunch and did some other pointless things. I fell asleep around 2 after a long fight to stay awake. Who takes mid afternoon naps? Me, babies under the age of 2 and senior citizens. When I woke up I immediately thought "OH no I slept too long...I need to hurry and get dinner" it was 4! Even babies don't eat then...just me and the senior citizens at Luby's. So I go get dinner (taco cabana if you were wondering) but when I got home I realized they had given me the wrong order. I ate some of it, but it was a taco salad with beef when I ordered a cabana bowl with chicken. Anyhoo so then I was still hungry...all while thinking I needed to eat asap because a) I was hungry and b) I don't like to be full when I go to bed.

I mean in my defense I waws legitimately hungry, I eat breakfast at 5 something am, and I eat lunch at 10 am.

Anyhoo, I went to the kitchen to make a substitute dinner. I opened the cabinet to see my cereal choices, sister and I apparently eat a lot of cereal...what is funny is that all the sugary kids cereals are mine and grown up healthy ones are Stephanie's. So I decide on raisin bran, which is odd because I don't like raisins, but none the less that is the one I picked. I pour the cereal and as I am walking to my room with it a realization hit me...I picked a old people cereal. I'm not sure that it is really a old person cereal, but in my head it is, it was one that waas always at my grandparents house growing up.

I also plan on going to bed around 8...thats when my grandmom used to go to bed...I spend a lot of my mornings talking about the weather...I am legally blind... I have uttered the phrase "when I was your age", nothing makes me happier than going to bed at a reasonable hour...the other day I had to inform Mary that Phil Collins was in Genesis, while someone else said "who is phil collins", At least my love for E! negates the geriatricocity for me...and my lack of love for soap operas.

OH-EM-GEE

So today has been pretty awesome.

1) many of you have heard about crazy lady in a buick that made me cry...well I found out today that she is moving to MARYLAND! I'm not sure if that is code for another place a little warmer...if you know what I mean but that news alone made me so happy, I don't have to live in fear everytime I hear the beep in my ear that she is going to be the voice on the other end.

2) I got paid today, which in and of itself is awesome...but for the first time ever in my life I saw on the bottom of my check VACATION TIME!!! I know, most of the people in the world get paid weeks of vacation...but I don't care I am so excited...I have 12 hours of vacay...awesome! And I also got a raise this week :)

3) We got to sample 5 pastries today...Whenever it's time to do "roll out" we get the new stuff to try, including tiny donuts, strawberries and cream coffee cake, shortbread cookies with rasberry in the middle, lemon cream cheese muffins, and a fruit bowl with kiwi, mango, and strawberry...I actually only ate the fruit bowl, but still it was nice that sbux sent us so much free stuff.

4) number 4 is awesome...but I don't know that it should be advertised on my blog, so this is here just to emphasize that there are more awesome things. :)

5) After I get off work tomorrow at 10:30 am I don't have to work again until Thursday...I thought about going to ft. worth, but Jenn is starting to get sick, most of my friends that live there are busy vacationing, graduating, having babies, or still working...so I'm going to wait...now I could use my paid vacay. Plus sister made plans for us to go to our mothers on sunday, I am not thrilled about that, I was hoping to kill 2 birds with one stone so to speak because we still are supposed to do lunch or dinner for my birthday, but sister says we can't make her pay if it's for mothers day too...I guess that is true...but twice in one week...I dunno.

I wish my neighbors would be quiet, I need a nap...but they are playing loud music...it sounds like they may be watching a movie, but either way it is loud. Part of me feels like I can't be mad because it is 2 pm...and most people don't sleep then...but at the same time just as a general rule of having neighbors, I shouldn't be able to hear that you are watching a movie. What the crap, just as I am writing this they are banging about...who does that? it's not like they have children or anything...well I guess they might...but I kinda doubt it.

Anyhoo, I'm out.

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

Who does that!?!?

The whole point in me starting this blog is to share the things in my life that only would happen to me. I do really dumb things sometimes...but really you just have to laugh about it.

So there is this dress. I saw it at J.Crew like a month ago. I loved it from the moment I saw it...however...it was 80 something dollars, and I almost never wear dresses, so I couldn't justify buying it. Life went on...I watched as it worked it's way to the back of the store ( I am aware that means that I have a slight obsession/ dependency problem). But I just could never bring myself to buy it. Well...today I was there (I swear I hadn't been there for like 2 weeks). My friend Mary and I were killing time between working this morning and a meeting this afternoon (don't worry...we now make the best frappucinos you will ever have)...so I showed her the dress, but we went on our way...I wasn't really in a shopping mood and we were running close on time to have to leave. But when I did see it I noticed that the dress was now $49...and an additional 30% off of that. So I thought about it and decided that I had to go back and get the dress...I have wanted it long enough and I felt like the price had gone down enough that I could have it..this was probably going to be my last chance. So after the meeting I head back to Katy to go to J. Crew....I go in and get the dress.

This is where things start to go wrong (however I did not know it yet)...I get the dress a belt and 2 other shirts...all for $55 (I know I am awesome...apparently I get a student discount at J. Crew...yet another reason I am thankful for not looking my real age...good thing I still have my Texas State id). If you know anything about me you might know that I do not try on clothes. I just hate it...especially today...our AC was broken at work...so I just felt gross. I generally know my size at stores I shop at...and to be honest, I would rather not try something on, take it home find out it doesn't fit and take it back...but really that doesn't ever happen, I can't even tell you the last time I have had to take something back. Anyhoo, I do a little bit more shopping, pick up dinner and make my way home.

So I get home, do some random stuff, take a shower, and after I got out of the shower I thought to myself that I wanted to try on the dress...I had already decided that I was going to wear the dress tomorrow to run errands...so I started to put it on. As I went to unzip it the zipper went down about an inch and a half and stopped. Determined at this point that I was going to get the dress on I mess with the zipper a little in an attempt to get it open. I couldn't get it to budge...so I get the idea to just see if I can slip it over my head. It was a little tight to get it over my shoulders, but I did it. The dress fit perfectly and I love it. So I got my fill of wearing my adorable new dress and I was ready to put on my pajamas...so I go to slip the dress over my head the same way I got it on...but it gets stuck on my shoulders. Surely if I got the dress on, it has to come off...so I try again...but it's not budging. I wiggle and hop around, but the dress is not going over my head.

I started to panic slightly...but was also trying to think of alternatives...pulling the dress down over my hips was not and option...my hips are bigger than my shoulders so that was not going to work...I couldn't do the zipper when I wasn't wearing the dress so I figured that with the zipper behind my back it was not going to make it any easier. I sat on my bed...getting frustrated when I realized what I would have to do. My sister was in her room watching tv...so I was going to have to request her help. I didn't want to do it. I am fairly modest and I typically avoid her seeing me in my underwear...lets be honest, we are from the same genepool...but I'm like 50 pounds bigger than her so I do not need that kind of judgement. But I did not see any other way...so I go in her room and in my most pathetic voice told her I was in fact stuck in my dress. Of course she didn't believe me and thought that I was just dumb and tried the zipper....obviously she could not make it move either ...she made the same over the head attempt that got me into this mess to begin with...and honestly I was sure it would work...it wasn't that hard to get on I just figured I couldn't get it off because of the angle of my shoulders when trying to pull the dress up...but we got nowhere. At that point she gave up and I went back to my room coming to the realization that I might be sleeping in my dress.

So I am starting to get desperate...this dress has GOT to come off...it is a precious dress...but I am not willing to commit to it for the rest of my life. I am also realizing that I may at this point have to risk tearing to get out...So I twist it around so the zipper is in front and pull at it, I figured the zipper was already broken, so I couldn't break it any more....finally I get the zipper to open under where the zipper was previously stuck....but I still can't get the dress off. I keep pulling and can finally inch the zipper down by somehow getting one side to move a little at a time....and voila...the dress is off and I am now comfortably in my bed in soffe shorts and a tshirt...just as life should be. My shoulders are a little sore from all the twisting...but I'm just glad to be out...I really thought I might have to sleep in the dress.

All of that to say that you would think that I would learn some things from all this...1) that I would no longer think the dress is precious...wrong...I still love it and plan on exchanging it tomorrow for one with a functioning zipper. 2) that I would try on clothes...wrong...I am 26 and this is the first time something like this has happened...so I figure that I'm not due for another rediculous mishap until I am 52...although it may be harder to wiggle out at that point.

I don't know what to say...I'm stubborn.

Sunday, May 4, 2008

You wish you didn't know

Man...you know it's sad when you are struggling to stay awake at...4:30pm...and I am nauseated by the idea that in 12 hours I will be at work while most of the world, except for our friends maybe in London or something, will be sleeping.

You will be happy to know that I have fixed the music player to be on random...so now everytime you visit a different song will play...or I guess you can put it on whatever you may want. I'm trying to change the picture thing...but that is a harder process and quite frankly I'm not even sure how I got it on there to begin with...it involved codes and we all know that I don't do number well.

I really love summer I decided...I love laying out, I love that things seem more relaxed...we'll see how I feel about starbucks, I haven't formed an opinion on that yet.

I've started apartment hunting...and by apartment hunting I mean looking online with my sister for 10 minutes and glancing at the other apts on eldridge as I go to different places. Whatever, I don't have to move until August/ September.

I have decided to share some random facts about myself, I guess you can call it a exercise in authenticity...I was challenged quite frankly...and I don't typically turn down challenges.

1) I am a shampoo whore. I noticed earlier today that I have 4 different shampoo bottles in my shower...and the conditioner that goes with them...and in some cases the deep conditioner that goes with that. Ok lets be honest, I'm a product whore...a product whore addicted to pink packaging. I had to convince myself yesterday at the store that I did not in fact need barbie cereal because it came in a pink box.

2) When I introduce myself and say "I'm Leigh" people often hear "Emily" and if I don't think it matters or that I'll ever see that person again I don't correct them. It hasn't back fired yet, but I'm just waiting for that day when I see someone and they say "your emily right...I met you at..." and I have to admit that is not my name and that I didn't correct them.

3) I really hate name tags. I don't know, I think since my name gets mispronounced all the time I hate it when people try to say my name without asking me. It's just weird...if I don't tell you my name or you don't have an actual purpose for knowing my name, then why should I advertise it?

4) I am eating cheese and crackers right now :)

5) I will never admit it but I am a picky eater, but I am. I don't eat things with peas, corn, whipped cream, onions, pickles, blueberries, melon, yogurt, oatmeal, granola, cooked carrots, any cooked fruit, bacon, eggs, ham, pork, lettuce, tomatoes, bananas, cantelope, popcorn, milk...get the picture. Besides that sometimes it's a texture or smell that makes me not like something, like yogurt...I don't mind the taste but I hate the smell.

6) I don't like to be touched, that is not a comepletely true statement. Yes, in general I avoid random contact with people, but if I love/trust you it doesn't bother me at all...but it is hard to make that distinction with people sometmes (like if I don't care if one person hugs me, but I really don't want another person to) so I just make it a blanket statement.

7) As a child I aspired to be a news anchor...until I realized that I don't enjoy public speaking.

8) I like to use big words, and most of the time I even know what they mean, but I don't use them when I write because I don't spell so good sometimes.

9) I am REALLY stubborn. There is no use trying to change my mind once I have a decision made. I take my time forming opinions, but once one is made it doesn't change. I don't put much stock in zodiac things, but pretty much any one of those things about me says I'm stubborn...my sign is taurus, when you go to chinese resturants I was born in the year of the dog...both of those are described as being stubborn.

Thats all I can think of...

Thursday, May 1, 2008

Drive Thru ettiquette 101

I have been going through drive thrus most of my life just as most people in America...but now that I work at one I am amazed by how rude and crazy people are.

1) Pulling up to the box and saying "HELLOOO" if I don't respond immediately. Chances are if I haven't said anything in 10 seconds that I am mid sentence with someone else, or standing in front of a blender, or grinding coffee...so if I talked I wouldn't be able to hear you. I know what you are thinking...it is rude to let someone sit there...I could at least say I'll be with you in just a moment or something...but 9 times out of 10 that doesn't work...once I say that they go ahead and order...people don't pay attention. I promise I will get to you as soon as I can.

2) Cutting off the spiel. I hate saying it, everytime I hear that ding I have to launch into "thank you for choosing starbucks, this is Leigh, would you like to try our new pike place roast coffee" ...trust me I don't enjoy having to say it 234 a day...but it's even more frustrating when mid sentence I get cut off mid sentence by some grumpy person saying "I just want coffee" I mean I can sympathize with this one, it is annoying as a customer to be offered things you don't want...especially when you are just running in and you know exactly what you want...I understand...but at the same time, I am not saying all of that for fun...I am told to say that, by the powers that be...I have to suggestive sell....is it really that hard to wait 15 seconds, say no thank you. and order what it is you actually want? If you hate this you have to go higher up than telling the person at the window...they have no control over what they are told to say. Anytime someone tells me that they hate being told all that, I just say I'm sorry, I have to do it...but if you really don't like it I would call someone in customer service, or email them.

3) skipping the box...there has got to be a special hell for these people. I don't understand...in all the time I have been using drive thrus it has never even been an option to me to skip the box and go straight to the window. I guess people think that if there is no line they can go straight to the window...but what they don't realize is that there are typically 2-3 people who hear your order...the person on the register, the person at the bar, and the person who is actually talking called the expiditer. So, when you skip the box and go straight to the window it throws things off...it's hard to explain I guess, it really isn't the end of the world but what is so frustrating about it is the peoples attitudes that do it. It is typically someone who is so busy on their cell phone that they weren't paying attention when they get to the box to order. Or I have also heard "oh I just drove right by, I didn't see it"...so you are telling me that you went through a DRIVE THRU...you didn't notice the big sign with all the things we serve and the speaker with the voice asking you what you want...seriously??? If that is the case you should not be driving...I can here you explaining to the officer why you didn't notice those red flashing things and just drove through the intersection. Just the other day a man did this and when he got to the window he told me he "hates talking into the speaker things" I'm sorry, but if that is your problem get out of your car and come inside.

4) not knowing how to order your own drink. I am aware that starbucks drinks aren't the easiest things to order, but maybe if you are a first timer you should come inside the store, even in the drive thru we are happy to help you order if that is the case, but you have to trust us when we tell you a frappucino is a blended ice drink, and the hot drink is a cappucino. In most cases if you order a basic drink we can walk you through it to make it how you want it...with whip, extra shot, no foam...all that stuff. Or if you order your drink wrong you might notice that we typically say it the right way when we are repeating it to you...it's not that we are judging you or anything, it's really just so you know how to say it next time to get what you want...but what is annoying is for instance this man comes through every day and orders "I want 5 shots...in a venti cup...fill it up with hot water...about a inch and a half at the top" so when we repeat his order we say "ok, you want a venti americano with room and a extra shot" (which is actually also not the right way to say it either). But even though we have told him what it is called numerous times...he still orders it the same way...but besides that he is also just mean...he also never lets us finish the spiel.

5) if you are ordering more than 4 drinks...or more than 3 seperate orders in one car...you should come inside. The drive thru is designed for quickly making 1 drink at at time, 2 or 3 isn't really a problem, but too many more than that can start to cause problems...it just backs things up...and when you do seperate orders it's kinda the same thing...especially when the driver has the person in the backseat of their van shout the order.

6) not paying attention when we repeat your order to you at the window. We are not perfect things get out of order so that is why we say your order when you get to the window...but more often than not when we say the order a double tall latte...people just say "yeah" and then act shocked when we hand them a double tall latte when they ordered a grande mocha frappucino.

I'm sure there are a lot more...but I have to go :)