The whole point in me starting this blog is to share the things in my life that only would happen to me. I do really dumb things sometimes...but really you just have to laugh about it.
So there is this dress. I saw it at J.Crew like a month ago. I loved it from the moment I saw it...however...it was 80 something dollars, and I almost never wear dresses, so I couldn't justify buying it. Life went on...I watched as it worked it's way to the back of the store ( I am aware that means that I have a slight obsession/ dependency problem). But I just could never bring myself to buy it. Well...today I was there (I swear I hadn't been there for like 2 weeks). My friend Mary and I were killing time between working this morning and a meeting this afternoon (don't worry...we now make the best frappucinos you will ever have)...so I showed her the dress, but we went on our way...I wasn't really in a shopping mood and we were running close on time to have to leave. But when I did see it I noticed that the dress was now $49...and an additional 30% off of that. So I thought about it and decided that I had to go back and get the dress...I have wanted it long enough and I felt like the price had gone down enough that I could have it..this was probably going to be my last chance. So after the meeting I head back to Katy to go to J. Crew....I go in and get the dress.
This is where things start to go wrong (however I did not know it yet)...I get the dress a belt and 2 other shirts...all for $55 (I know I am awesome...apparently I get a student discount at J. Crew...yet another reason I am thankful for not looking my real age...good thing I still have my Texas State id). If you know anything about me you might know that I do not try on clothes. I just hate it...especially today...our AC was broken at work...so I just felt gross. I generally know my size at stores I shop at...and to be honest, I would rather not try something on, take it home find out it doesn't fit and take it back...but really that doesn't ever happen, I can't even tell you the last time I have had to take something back. Anyhoo, I do a little bit more shopping, pick up dinner and make my way home.
So I get home, do some random stuff, take a shower, and after I got out of the shower I thought to myself that I wanted to try on the dress...I had already decided that I was going to wear the dress tomorrow to run errands...so I started to put it on. As I went to unzip it the zipper went down about an inch and a half and stopped. Determined at this point that I was going to get the dress on I mess with the zipper a little in an attempt to get it open. I couldn't get it to budge...so I get the idea to just see if I can slip it over my head. It was a little tight to get it over my shoulders, but I did it. The dress fit perfectly and I love it. So I got my fill of wearing my adorable new dress and I was ready to put on my pajamas...so I go to slip the dress over my head the same way I got it on...but it gets stuck on my shoulders. Surely if I got the dress on, it has to come off...so I try again...but it's not budging. I wiggle and hop around, but the dress is not going over my head.
I started to panic slightly...but was also trying to think of alternatives...pulling the dress down over my hips was not and option...my hips are bigger than my shoulders so that was not going to work...I couldn't do the zipper when I wasn't wearing the dress so I figured that with the zipper behind my back it was not going to make it any easier. I sat on my bed...getting frustrated when I realized what I would have to do. My sister was in her room watching tv...so I was going to have to request her help. I didn't want to do it. I am fairly modest and I typically avoid her seeing me in my underwear...lets be honest, we are from the same genepool...but I'm like 50 pounds bigger than her so I do not need that kind of judgement. But I did not see any other way...so I go in her room and in my most pathetic voice told her I was in fact stuck in my dress. Of course she didn't believe me and thought that I was just dumb and tried the zipper....obviously she could not make it move either ...she made the same over the head attempt that got me into this mess to begin with...and honestly I was sure it would work...it wasn't that hard to get on I just figured I couldn't get it off because of the angle of my shoulders when trying to pull the dress up...but we got nowhere. At that point she gave up and I went back to my room coming to the realization that I might be sleeping in my dress.
So I am starting to get desperate...this dress has GOT to come off...it is a precious dress...but I am not willing to commit to it for the rest of my life. I am also realizing that I may at this point have to risk tearing to get out...So I twist it around so the zipper is in front and pull at it, I figured the zipper was already broken, so I couldn't break it any more....finally I get the zipper to open under where the zipper was previously stuck....but I still can't get the dress off. I keep pulling and can finally inch the zipper down by somehow getting one side to move a little at a time....and voila...the dress is off and I am now comfortably in my bed in soffe shorts and a tshirt...just as life should be. My shoulders are a little sore from all the twisting...but I'm just glad to be out...I really thought I might have to sleep in the dress.
All of that to say that you would think that I would learn some things from all this...1) that I would no longer think the dress is precious...wrong...I still love it and plan on exchanging it tomorrow for one with a functioning zipper. 2) that I would try on clothes...wrong...I am 26 and this is the first time something like this has happened...so I figure that I'm not due for another rediculous mishap until I am 52...although it may be harder to wiggle out at that point.
I don't know what to say...I'm stubborn.
Tuesday, May 6, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment