Friday, May 9, 2008

Geriaticocity

I have been 26 for almost 2 weeks now. I'm pretty much just chillin and waiting for the AARP meetings to start (is it bad that I don't know what that stands for? I even just googled it and I could only find what it does, not what it stands for...no wait I just looked on wikipedia it stands for "American Association for Retired Persons")

I am noticing more and more my geriatric tendicies...I mean we all already know about my love for luby's, golden girls and mahjongg.

a recent series of events (and by recent I mean an hour ago) has reenforced my feelings, but most of them are caused by my job.

So, I got home from work today and ate my lunch and did some other pointless things. I fell asleep around 2 after a long fight to stay awake. Who takes mid afternoon naps? Me, babies under the age of 2 and senior citizens. When I woke up I immediately thought "OH no I slept too long...I need to hurry and get dinner" it was 4! Even babies don't eat then...just me and the senior citizens at Luby's. So I go get dinner (taco cabana if you were wondering) but when I got home I realized they had given me the wrong order. I ate some of it, but it was a taco salad with beef when I ordered a cabana bowl with chicken. Anyhoo so then I was still hungry...all while thinking I needed to eat asap because a) I was hungry and b) I don't like to be full when I go to bed.

I mean in my defense I waws legitimately hungry, I eat breakfast at 5 something am, and I eat lunch at 10 am.

Anyhoo, I went to the kitchen to make a substitute dinner. I opened the cabinet to see my cereal choices, sister and I apparently eat a lot of cereal...what is funny is that all the sugary kids cereals are mine and grown up healthy ones are Stephanie's. So I decide on raisin bran, which is odd because I don't like raisins, but none the less that is the one I picked. I pour the cereal and as I am walking to my room with it a realization hit me...I picked a old people cereal. I'm not sure that it is really a old person cereal, but in my head it is, it was one that waas always at my grandparents house growing up.

I also plan on going to bed around 8...thats when my grandmom used to go to bed...I spend a lot of my mornings talking about the weather...I am legally blind... I have uttered the phrase "when I was your age", nothing makes me happier than going to bed at a reasonable hour...the other day I had to inform Mary that Phil Collins was in Genesis, while someone else said "who is phil collins", At least my love for E! negates the geriatricocity for me...and my lack of love for soap operas.

No comments: