It has recently been brought to my attention that I very frequently use the word whatever. Although I have always been aware that I say it alot I never really realized that it is a defining speech pattern of mine until the other day.
So Libby woke up at 4:30am. Although I am actually used to waking up then, it doesn't really make me a fan. Anyhoo, I had promised Mary that I would bring Libby through the drive thru at starbucks (they frown upon me bringing her in the store...whatever..SEE I just did it, and I really didn't even do it on purpose) So, decided to take Libby because it would be before the rush. So I pull thru and Bob answers. He says the spiel, and I said "hey bob, it's leigh" I told him my order (don't worry, it was passion tea which has no caffine)...but apparently he didn't realize it was me (because who wakes up that early on their day off) until...he said something else to me and I said "whatever, I'll see you at the window" Mary later told me that was what tipped him off that it was me...apparently he didn't hear me say my name.
What makes that even funnier is just the day before that happened he mentioned my frequent use of the word. I wonder if it bothers him. I thought about trying to count how many times I use it in one day, but I don't think I can, it is such a natural part of my speech that I don't even realize how much I say it.
I don't even know where it came from. I mean I know the first time I remember hearing it was clueless...sometime in middle school. But I feel like more recently it has become a staple in my vocabulary.
Someone once told me I have a interesting vocabulary. I'm not sure what to make of that. I feel kinda bad because I can't lie most of my speech patterns are not original. In fact the more I think about it Katie Schrank is responsible for most of them. In my own defense...all of phi lamb talked like her and all of camp talks like her so virtually everyone I know talks like her...I can't help it. I remember in college when a defining speech pattern for a phi lamb was "I'm not going to lie" I guess it is good that since it was a christian sorority that we didn't lie.
It's just funny to think about where I pick up things...like "friend", "get excited", "jsyk", "I'm just sayin", "get a grip", "lets talk about"...even "sister" is not original as most people think. Although I think I might have actually started "get excited"
At work I often get told I talk too fast. Every once in a while someone will tell me to slow down...it's usually old men. Maybe they should learn to listen faster. I also amazed everybody with my ability to rap "ice ice baby" pretty fast.
Alright stop collaborate and listen...
Sunday, May 18, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment